Quiet Nights

IMG_20170515_0001
Stone Arches and Solitude

It’s the weekend!  Well, it is for me at least.  My favorite parts of the week are when I can stay up late knowing that I can sleep in as long as I want the next day.  Admittedly, this is probably the main reason I have such a weird sleep schedule.  Consistency isn’t really a word in my life dictionary.  This is something that I’m planning to work on.  As fun as it is to spend all night reading, doing crafts, or watching TV, there’s no denying that it has a negative impact on the rest of my week.

I tend to get my energy from soda and coffee during the work week instead of from having a good eight hours of sleep.  It may sound silly at my age to just be coming to the realization that my parents tried to set a bedtime for me growing up for a good reason.  My goal for the rest of the week, therefore, is to catch some z’s.  In a healthy way.

I’m taking baby steps.  I’ve been thinking for a while that being an adult is far more than just an age number.  It requires a different mindset.  Not that I’m running around like a teenager, but I’m certainly not running around like a responsible adult either.  I’ll get there.  Starting with getting to bed by 10:30 pm (when my work schedule allows it) and waking up at 6:00 am.  If my parents (who are in their fifties) can get up at the crack of dawn every day, then so can I.  As I recall, they also get to bed at around 10 pm.

Below is a collection of a few of my journals.  I threw them in quotes in the caption because I don’t actually use them for journaling.  There’s just something about a beautiful empty book that makes me want to buy it.  Maybe one day I’ll fill them with something.  It’s far more likely that they’ll get passed on to any kids I might have to do with as they will.  What can I say?  Some people have too many cats, I have too many journals 🙂

IMG_20170513_0004
Day Four: A portion of my “journal” collection.
Leave a Reply

